Blind Date: Part 2

As I walk into the building I feel a sense of nervousness. I haven’t felt this way since Rebecca, but that was ancient history, not to be revisited on my way to meet another woman. Stacey, our mutual friend, showed me a picture of Anna, but I still wasn’t sure if it was the same woman I see sitting behind the help desk. This is one of the older Libraries in the city. Hardly anyone comes here anymore. It is early afternoon and the sun is shining bright through the windows in the ceiling. She notices me as soon as I walk in, so I have no time to analyze her facial features except for her piecing eyes. When I finally arrive at the desk, we exchanged pleasantries and then I ask for Anna. Her facial expression tells me everything, slightly enthusiastic and excited, but also a little fear.

I’m Anna” she says with a wide beautiful smile that could stop a man like me dead in his tracks.

“My name is Trevor. Stacey said I might find you here. She wanted us to meet and has been talking about you for quite some time now” as I slid my hands into my pockets trying to appear more confident.

“That’s funny ‘cause she’s only mentioned you once, about two weeks ago” she says.

                                                                                                          

blue suit“Well, I got off early and I remembered that she mentioned where you worked, so I decided to meet you in person and ask you out on a date. Maybe Dinner? I hope I’m not being too forward.”

Thoughts racing through my head, wow I can’t believe what I’m doing. Stacey did tell me where she worked, but was this really a good idea. She must be thinking that I am crazy by ambushing her at her job like this. Maybe I should go. As doubt and fear continued to race through my mind, I heard her say in the sweetest voice…

“Yes”

“Excuse me” was all I could muster up to say in response.

“Yes, I will go to dinner with you. Pick me up at 8. I’ll give you directions to my place.”

To be continued….

Part 3 finale will be posted Wednesday May 22, 2013!  

Leave a Reply

